Two-minute silence observed in educational institutions across Odisha for slain CRPF jawans

Nation Odisha

Bhubaneswar: A two-minute silence was observed in all the educational institutions in the State on Saturday to pay homage to the 40 CRPF personnel killed in a terror attack in Jammu and Kashmir’s Pulwama on Thursday.

Forty CRPF personnel were killed and five injured in one of the deadliest terror attacks in Jammu and Kashmir on Thursday afternoon, when a Jaish-e-Mohammed suicide bomber rammed a vehicle carrying around 100 kg of explosives into the bus carrying the jawans in Pulwama district.

On Friday, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik appealed to all educational institutions to hold a two-minute silence at 11 am on Saturday to honour the CRPF jawans who made supreme sacrifices and attained martyrdom.

The students along with teachers observed the two-minute silence at 11 am and remembered the sacrifices of the jawans.

Two Odia CRPF jawans among nearly 40 martyrs were martyred in the terror attack.

Havildar Prasanna Kumar Sahu of 61 Battalion of Shikhar village in Naugaon block of Jagatsinghpur district and Constable Manoj Kumar Behera of Ratanpur village under Niali area in Cuttack district among the slain 40 CRPF jawans were martyred.

The mortal remains of the two slain jawnas will arrive at the Biju Patnaik International Airport here today and taken to their native places for cremation.

Meanwhile, the Chief Minister also spoke to the bereaved family members of two martyrs Prasanna Sahu and Manoj Behera over telephone and conveyed his deep sympathies and also announced Rs 10 lakh ex-gratia each to the family members of the two brave jawans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *