Naveen ropes in RS member Sarojini Hembram for Baripada Assembly seat

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has roped in yet another Rajya Sabha member to contest the ensuing Assembly elections.

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced the name of Rajya Sabha member Sarojini Hembram as party’s candidate for the Baripada Assembly constituency in tribal dominated Mayurbhanj district.

“Sarojini Hembram will be our MLA candidate from Baripada,” announced Patnaik this morning said.

With Hembram, Naveen has so far picked six Rajya Sabha members to contest the polls. While Prasanna Acharya, Achyut Samant and Ollywood actor Anubhav Mohanty will contest the Bargarh, Kandhamal and Kendrapara Lok Sabha constituencies, respectively, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik have been made candidates for Aul and Khandapada Assembly segments, respectively.

Earlier in 2009, Hembram had successfully contested from Bangriposi Assembly constituency as a BJD candidate. She was elected to the Assembly from Bangiriposihi (ST) constituency unseating three-time MLA and JMM heavy weight Sudam Marandi. She was later elected to the Upper House in 2014.

The general and Assembly elections will be held simultaneously in the State in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. Baripada Assembly constituency will go to polls in the last phase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *