Naveen Patnaik most suitable to be Prime Minister: BJD

Nation Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is most suitable person to become the Prime Minister of the country, claimed party vice-president Surjya Narayan Patro here on Friday.

The statement came at a time when Patnaik is once again in demand with both NDA and UPA leaders trying to get him into their camp as the Lok Sabha election nears its completion.

However, Patro said that it should not be with the support of Congress as it has a history of first supporting someone for PM and them pulling out of it.

“People of Odisha and also in the country want to see Chief Naveen Patnaik as the Prime Minister of the country. He is most suitable to be PM, but should not with the help of Congress as it has history of first supporting someone for PM and then pulling out,” said Patro.

On BJD’s equidistance policy, Patro said BJD is no more equidistant and support the party that protects Odisha’s interest. Although the BJD earlier maintained equidistance from both the Congress and the BJP, the BJD supremo had repeatedly said during his election rallies that no national party will win a majority and the BJD will play a key role in the formation of the next Government at the Centre.

CM Patnaik is seeking fifth consecutive term in office this time. Simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly polls were held in Odisha in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

The statement of Patro also assumed significance while UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi has invited Patnaik to attend a meeting of Opposition parties in New Delhi on May 23 and BJP national president Amit Shah has praised the BJD president for the violence-free poll campaign in Odisha. However, amid attentions from both the camps, Patbaik still keeps cards close to chest.

Lok Sabha election results will be declared on May 23. Meanwhile, both the NDA and UPA leaders are trying to get him into their camp. Odisha has 21 Lok Sabha segments and the regional party won 20 parliamentary constituencies in 2014 elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *