BJD MLAs meet today to re-elect Naveen Patnaik as CM


Bhubaneswar: The newly elected BJD MLAs will meet on Sunday to formally elect party president Naveen Patnaik as their leader, allowing him to approach Governor Ganeshi Lal to stake claim for Government formation for a record fifth term.

The re-election will be a mere formality since Patanik as he is the ‘undisputed’ leader of BJD.

The BJD emerged a clear winner, bagging 112 in the 147-member Assembly. In the outgoing Assembly, the BJD had 117 seats.

The MLAs will meet at 12.30 pm at the party State headquarters where Patnaik is likely to address them.

After being named the BJD Legislature Party Leader, Patnaik will formally claim before the Governor to form Government.

Meanwhile, preparations are in full swing for swearing-in ceremony of the new Government that would be held on May 29 in a grand way at IDCO Exhibition Ground in Unit-III. For the first time, swearing-in ceremony will be held outside the Raj Bhavan.

Patnaik will take oath as the CM of the State for a record fifth consecutive time.

BJD too was victorious in 12 parliamentary constituencies. BJP won eight seats while Congress was confined to one seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *