Maharashtra crowned Champion at National Yogasana Championship in Bhubaneswar


Bhubaneswar, November 13: The first ever physical National Yogasana Sports Championships culminated here on Saturday.

Maharashtra was crowned as overall champion while Tamil Nadu bagged the second position and West Bengal and Goa emerged as third at India’s first ever Physical National Yogasana Championships hosted by Odisha – The Sports Capital of India.

Chief guest Padmashree Dilip Tirkey, Chairman, Odisha Hockey Promotion Council, applauded the winners and young Indian athletes who participated in the championship and congratulated NYSF on its astounding success.

Udith Sheth, NYSF president; Dr. Jaideep Aarya, NYSF General Secretary; Shri Sudhanshu Adhikari, senior vice president Yogasana Sports Association of Odisha Umang Dawn, Dr. Sasmita Samanta (KIIT University) and Nitin Beri, COO, Transstadia; and Sanjay Malpani, NYSF were also present at the ceremony.

At least 50 medals were awarded through the championship to young athletes who showcased their Yogasana skills in various competitive events. Trophies were awarded to winners of Sub junior and junior team championships.

Trupti Dongrae of Maharashtra finished first in Sub Junior Girls and Nibodh Patil finished first in Sub Junior Boys category. Swara Gujar from Maharashtra won the title in Junior Girls and Jai Kalekar from Maharashtra won the title in Junior Boys category.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *