Focus on basic urban amenities in TP scheme areas


Bhubaneswar, January 4: Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra on Tuesday reviewed the implementation of town planning (TP) scheme on virtual mode from Lokseba Bhawan wherein BDA Vice-Chairman Sanjay Kumar Singh outlined the issues for discussion.

It was decided in the meeting that the Works Department would construct the major roads, and BDA would develop the minor roads. Similarly, the water supply and sewerage management would be planned by WATCO. Tata Power central Odisha distribution Ltd was also directed to prepare the detailed plan for electricity supply from source to the end user.

Reviewing the progress made so far, Chief Secretary Mahapatra directed to ensure basic urban amenities in the areas under TP schemes. He directed to prepare a detailed work plan for laying of road, piped water supply, power supply, open space, social infrastructure, sewerage network and drainage management.

Presenting the updates, the BDA VC said that BDA proposed to take up 45 TP schemes along the upcoming capital ring road. In the meanwhile, TP scheme No-1, 2, 3, and 4 taken up in the first phase made substantial progress. After detailed survey and pulling together of all available land, corrected land records of rights were prepared and distribution started.

The Chief Secretary directed the complete distribution of the corrected ROR to the land owners in the coming two months. Target was fixed to expedite construction of road works during this season. Besides, the preparatory works for grounding of the TP No-5 to 13 were also at an advanced stage.

Available data shows, the TP No-1 covers part of the mauzs like Sahajpur, Narogada, Sijuput, and Paikrapur. TP No-2 covers parts of Tamando and Bijipur mauzas; TP-3 covers parts of Nuagan and Paikarapur; and, TP-4 covers part of Shyamsundarpur mauza. In total, these four schemes cover around 1,600 acres envisaged to accommodate around 1.50 lakh population with basic urban amenities. As per initial estimate, around Rs 749 crore would be invested for development of different infrastructure.

Principal Secretary Housing and Urban Development G. Mathivathanan, Principal Secretary Revenue and Disaster Management Satyabrata Sahu, Principal Secretary Finance Vishal Kumar Dev, Principal Secretary Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water Ashok Kumar Meena along with senior officers from concerned departments and agencies participated in the discussions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *