Hockey World Cup 2023: Star-studded inaugural ceremony held at Barabati Stadium 

Odisha Sports

Cuttack, January 11: Ahead of the FIH Odisha Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela, Millennium city of Cuttack hosted a glittering and star-studded inauguration ceremony at the historical Barabati Stadium on Wednesday here.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Union Sports Minister Anurag Thakur on Wednesday graced opening ceremony.

The opening ceremony featured live performances by Bollywood stars Ranveer Singh, Disha Patani and music composer Pritam, who has composed HWC 2023 anthem, along with Blackswan, the famous K-Pop band featuring Odisha’s Shreya Lenka. Ollywood’s power couple Sabyasachi Mishra and Archita Sahu also featured in the celebration along with the famous Prince Dance Group.

Around 35,000 spectators gathered in the stadium to soak in the dazzling and action-packed music and performances by Bollywood and Ollywood superstars along with international groups.

The glittering World Cup trophy was unveiled by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in the Union Sports Minister Anurag Thakur, FIH President Tayyab Ikram and Hockey India President Dilip Tirkey.

Chief Minister Patnaik thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Government of India for extending all sorts of cooperation to the Government of Odisha in organizing the hockey world cup.

“I welcome all the visitors, international delegates and players, FIH President, Union Sports Minister to Odisha. I thank the Prime Minister and the Central Government for all its support,” said CM Patnaik.

Patnaik said, “Odisha has been long known for its hospitality. I hope visitors will take a little part of Odisha with them.”

Union Minister Thakur said that the Government of India has been doing its best to promote sports and games in the country.

Appreciating the grand opening ceremony, he said that it is one of the grandest of all such ceremonies.

“I take this opportunity to Odisha Chief Minister for having given to the country a magnificent hockey stadium. I also thank FIH President Tayyab Ikram for having awarded the FIH Men’s hockey world cup to India for two consecutive times,” said the Union Minister.

State Sports and Youth Services Minister Tusharkanti Behera, Hockey India President Dilip Tirkey graced the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *