Bhubaneswar Metro Rail project to cover 26 kms with 20 stations in first phase


Bhubaneswar, August 16: The much awaited Bhubaneswar Metro Rail will cover a distance of around 26 kilometers between Bhubaneswar and Cuttack.

As per the Detailed Project Report (DPR) prepared by Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC), the metro rail project will have 20 stations in the 26-kilometre stretch.

The areas to be covered include Biju Patnaik airport, Capital Hospital, Sishu Bhawan, Bapuji Nagar, Bhubaneswar Railway Station, Ram Mandir Square, Vani Vihar, Acharya Vihar, Jaydev Vihar, Xavier Square, Rail Sadan, Damana Square, Patia Square, KIIT Square, Nandan Vihar, Raghunathpur, Nandankanan Zoological Park, Phulapokhari and Trishulia Square in Cuttack.

The DPR was submitted to the Chief Secretary Pradip Jena in the meeting held by Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Corporation.

On April 1 on the occasion of Utkal Dibasa, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has sanctioned Metro Rail Project under 5T mandate connecting Bhubaneswar Airport to Trishulia, Cuttack which will be subsequently extended to cover Khordha, Puri and other areas of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack city.

The DMRC was engaged with the responsibility of preparing the DPR.

In the meanwhile, Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) has been notified on August 3 and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and General Manager (Administration) have been appointed.

DMRC after conducting traffic survey, geo-technical investigation, topo-graphic survey, environmental & social impact assessments, completed the DPR preparation and submitted to the Chief Secretary today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *