KIIT to confer Honorary Doctorate on Mauritius Prez, Nobel laureate


On the occasion of 9th convocation of KIIT University

Bhubaneswar: The KIIT University is all set to hold its 9th annual convocation ceremony on Saturday. A total of 2783 students of 2012 – 13 graduating
batch from all streams of the University would receive their degrees while gold
and silver medals will also be awarded to meritorious students in different
fields. Every year, KIIT University confers Pradyumna Bal Memorial Gold Medal,
Founder’s Gold Medal, Chancellor’s Gold Medal, VC’s Silver Medal, PPL gold
medal, Nanibala Memorial Gold medal on its most meritorious students at the
Convocation ceremony.
The President of the Republic of Mauritius Rajkeswur Purryag
will be the chief guest of the convocation ceremony while Prof. Oliver
Smithies, American geneticist and Nobel Laureate (Physiology or Medicine –
2007) will be chief speaker, said Prof. P. P. Mathur, Vice Chancellor of KIIT.
 Honoris Causa D.Litt.
and D.Sc.will be conferred on the Mauritius President and the Nobel Laureate
respectively. Honoris Causa D.Litt. will also be conferred on Padma Vibhushan
Dr. Sonal Mansingh, Indian Classical Dancer and Social Activist and Dr.
Pradyumna Kumar Mahanandia, Eminent Artist, Sweden, said Dr. Sasmita Samanta,
Registrar of KIIT.
 Prof. Smithies Maeda
from USA, Dr. Shibhashis Giri from Germany, Prof Feng-Huei Lin from Taiwan,
Prof Henry Chen-Yao Su from Taipei University, Taiwan, Dr. Loendana De Bartolo
from Italy, Prof. Olena Deryabina and Pro Vitaliy A. Kordium from Ukraine,
Prof. Man-Gi Cho from Korea, Prof Bruno Soares and Mrs Larissa Kern from
Gernany, and Dr. Stitlana Novikova from Ukraine will also grace the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *