National Waterway-5 progress reviewed

Bhubaneswar, May 2: Odisha Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi
and Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI) Chairman Nutan Guha Biswas
jointly reviewed the progress of the National Waterway-5 at the State Secretariat
here on Tuesday.
The Chief Secretary asked the district Collectors of the
concerned districts to undertake a survey of the villages along the river banks
and identify the points that are generally used by the people for crossing the
river while IWAI Chairman assured of all assistance for setting up the ghats on
those points for carrying forward the river dredging works. 
The issues relating to dredging of the river course, dumping
of the dredged materials, transportation of the dredged materials, repair and
maintenance of the embankment roads, protection of river banks, preparation of
tender documents redesigning and development of the existing bridges coming on
the waterway etc were discussed and resolved in the meeting.
It was decided to undertake the first phase of the project
from Dhamara/Paradip to Pankapala through Mangalagadi. The distance from
Dhamara to Mangalagadi is around 28 kms and distance from Paradip Port to
Mangalagadi is around 67 kms. Distance from Mangalagadi to Pankapala is around
106 kms. There are 12 Railway, NHAI, and PWD bridges on this stretch which
would be redesigned and customized for the waterway. The works in this stretch
will be carried forward in close cooperation between State and Central
agencies. A SPV has been formed for the purpose involving Govt of Odisha,
Paradeep Port Trust and Dhamara Port Trust. As per preliminary estimates, an
amount of Rs 1243 crore will be invested in the project in coming four years.
Available data show, the proposed waterway consists of rivers
like Bramhani, Kharsua, Kani, Dhamara, Mantei, Mahanadi delta, and East coast
canal spread over the States of Odisha and West Bengal. It stretches over 588
kms out of which 492 kms are in Odisha and the rest 91 kms are in West Bengal.
The waterway has been designed to provide connectivity between Paradep Dhamara
ports, Kalinganagar Industrial cluster and Mahanadi coal field.   
Development Commissioner R Balakrishnan, Principal Secretary
Commerce and Transport Sanjaya Rastogi, Principal Secretary Water Resources Pradeep
Kumar Jena, Principal Secretary Revenue and Disaster Management Dr Chanda
Sekhar Kumar, Secretary Energy Hemant Kumar Sharma, Special Secretary Commerce and
Transport Manoj Kumar Mishra along with senior officers from NHAI, Railways,
Port Trusts, IWAI and Collector Kendrapara participated in deliberations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *