Last day rush of nominations at Berhampur Sub-Collector’s office

Odisha Politics

Berhampur: Candidates of three major political parties, BJD, Congress and BJP, and some Independent nominees filed nominations for different Assembly seats at the Sub-Collectors’ office here on Monday, the last day of filing of nominations for the scheduled first-phase polling.

The silk city, particularly the Sub-Collector’s office area, witnessed unprecedented crowd as the candidates came in processions with thousands of supporters to file papers for their respective constituencies. The traffic in the city remained crowded till afternoon.

According to information, BJD’s Nandini Devi, Surjya Narayan Patro and Bikram Panda filed nominations for Sanakhemundi, Digapahandi and Berhampur, respectively, BJP’s Bibhuti Jena, Kahnu Charan Pati, Pinki Pradhan filed papers for Gopalpur, Berhampur and Digapahandi, respectively, Congress’ Ramesh Jena and Lingaraj Choudhury for Sanakhemundi and Berhampur, respectively and Ambedkar Congress’ Gobinda Sahu filed papers for Berhampur constituency.

Besides, after visiting Lord Jagannath Temple at Khallikote, one Suryamani Baidya filed her nomination in the office of Additional Collector at Chhatrapur for Khallkote constituency.

Senior scribe and social worker Samarjit Mohanty reportedly filed papers for the Polasara constituency as a candidate of the All India Forward Bloc.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *