Over 61% voter turnout till 5 pm in Odisha

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: The phase-III of the Lok Sabha and Assembly election 2019 concluded, with around 61 per cent of voter turnout till 5pm on Tuesday.

“Till 5 pm, 61 per cent voter turnout was recorded. The exact poling percentage will be known tomorrow,” said Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar on Tuesday.

The voting was held in 10,464 polling stations in six Parliamentary constituencies and 42 Assembly segments coming under them having a voter population of 92,56,322.

Many prominent personalities exercised their franchise in the third phase of the elections.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, BJP national vice-president Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda, Puri king Dibya Singha Deb, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar, DGP Dr Rajendra Prasad Sharma, were among top leaders who exercised their franchise at different places in the State.

The first phase of polling on April 11, held for four Lok Sabha seats and 28 Assembly segments, recorded 73.76 per cent voting, while the second phase balloting on April 18, conducted for four Lok Sabha and 35 Assembly segments witnessed 72.56 per cent voter turnout.

Kumar further informed that said voting in two polling booths in the State was adjourned due to mis-pairing of EVM and VVPAT machines.

Kumar said polling in booth number 196 of Badamba Assembly seat under Cuttack Parliamentary constituency and booth number 183 of Deogarh Assembly segment under Sambalpur PC have been suspended due wrong pairing. Fresh poll will be conducted in the two booths as per the direction of the Election Commission of India.

Kumar further informed that re-polling will be held in nine booths where voting was suspended due to several reasons in the second phase on April 18.

Fresh polling will be conducted at 129-Upar Pada Kendrikela UG UP school in Bonai Assembly segment under Sundargarh parliamentary constituency, 213-Rangadhipa UP school in Sundargarh Assembly and PC, 210-Bahadajhola and 222-Betanati in Daspalla Assembly seat and Kandhamal PC, 235-Areigudi in Attabira Assembly seat under Bargarh PC, 68-Shakti Nagar Primary School in Bargarh Assembly and PC, 16-Dava in Padampur AC under Bargarh PC, 254-Charmal Project Upper Primary School in Brajarajnagar AC under Bargarh PC and 182-Renti in Surada AC under Aska PC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *