PM Modi congratulates Naveen for yet another victory

Nation Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday congratulated BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik for yet another victory in Odisha.

Patnaik set to become the Chief Minister of Odisha for a record fifth consecutive term, which would make him one of India’s longest-serving Chief Ministers.

“Congratulations to Naveen Babu for yet another victory in Odisha. Wishing him the very best for the next term,” tweeted Modi. Modi also tweeted in Odia to congratulate Patnaik.

As per the latest trends, BJD is leading in 112 Assembly seats while BJP and Congress are leading in 21 and 12 seats.

Similarly, BJD is leading in 16 Lok Sabha seats while BJP is leading in five parliamentary constituencies.

While BJD is leading in Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Mayubhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Nabarangpur, Koraput, Cuttack, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Aska, Berhampur and Koraput Lok Sabha seats while BJP is leading in Bargarh, Sundergarh, Kalahandi, Bolangir and Bhubaneswar.

Both the parties have fielded candidates in all the 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats.

Of the 146 seats, BJD is leading in 98 seats, while BJP is leading in 28 and Congress in 13 seats. The majority mark in the Assembly stands at 74.

Hence, the trends have predicted Patnaik will return for another term with a comfortable majority. The counting is currently underway. Patnaik has been the CM of Odisha since 2000.

Meanwhile, BJD is leading in 12 Lok Sabha constituencies, BJP in eight and Congress in one, according to latest trends.

In 2009, BJD had won 14 Lok Sabha seats out of 21 and 103 seats in 147 strong Assembly while the Congress had managed to win 27 Assembly seats and six Parliamentary seats. BJP had had managed to win only six Assembly seats and zero Lok Sabha seats.

In 2014, the BJD had won 117 Assembly seats and 20 Lok Sabha seats. While the BJP had won 10 Assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat, Congress had managed to won 16 Assembly seats but drawn a blank in Parliamentary constituencies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *