AICWC opens its 22nd chapter in Odisha to protect consumers’ rights


Bhubaneswar: The All India Consumer Welfare Council (AICWC) on Sunday started its operations in Odisha by announcing formation of its State chapter.

Odisha is 22nd State in the country where the Council is operational full-fledged to protect consumers’ rights and represent their voice in right platforms. State and District level executives of the chapter were appointed in presence of CCI national president Dr Anant Sharma and AICWC national general secretary Devendra Tiwari.

AICWC is affiliated with the Consumer Confederation of India (CCI) and recognised by the Department of Consumer Affairs.

Sunil Kumar Behera and Barun Prakash Jena have been appointed as president and secretary of AICWC Odisha chapter, respectively. Apart from appointment of the executives, a daylong workshop on Consumer Protection Act – 2019, including Consumer Empowerment, Know your Bill, Consumer Behaviour, Unfair Trade Practices, Misleading Advertisements and Smooth Consumer Grievance Redressal Mechanism was also held to educate the grass root level newly joined members who will be further utilised to educate the same to the public/consumer.

Speaking on the occasion, CII national president Dr Anant Sharma hoped that the AICWC Odisha Chapter will be exponential in educating the consumers of Odisha and the rights of consumers will be protected.

It is pertinent to mention here that, the Consumer Protection Act 2019 has recently replaced the three-decade-old Consumer Protection Act, 1986 proposes a slew of measures and tightens the existing rules to further safeguard.

As per the new Act, a Consumer Protection Authority is going to be in place which was proposed since long. The authority has got the rights to directly intervene into cases on mass complain. As the consumer is one of the most important resources of the country and the Central Government is committed to guarantee their welfare and protect their rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *