Odisha Govt forms inter-Ministerial committee to look into issues of contractors


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government on Tuesday constituted an inter-Ministerial committee headed by Finance Minister Niranjan Pujari to look into the issues raised by All Odisha Contractors’ Association.

Other Ministers, including Works and Steel and Mines Minister Prafulla Malik, Housing and Urban Development Minister Pratap Jena, Revenue and Disaster Management Minister Sudam Marndi, Water Resources and Information and Public Relations Minister Raghunandan Das are members of the committee while Works Department Secretary Krishan Kumar is the member convener.

“After careful consideration, Government has been pleased to constitute an inter-ministerial committee to look into the issues raised by All Odisha Contractors’ Association on their ten point demands,” said a Government notification.

The demands include awarding Government contracts to them instead of those from outside the State, implementation of the scheduled rate fixed for 2019, implementation of Centre’s standard book for contracts, fixation of labour charges, withdrawal of the State Government’s decision to deduct the material cost and royalty money from contractor’s payment.

The contractors under the aegis of All Odisha Contractors’ Association also hit the streets demanding immediate measures to address their demands.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *