Odisha CM rolls out 18 Highway Patrolling units; 18 more to come up


Bhubaneswar, February 1: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday rolled out 18 Highway Patrolling Units in 18 stretches of various State and National Highways (NHs) through video conferencing.

Launching these units, the Chief Minister said that it will play a crucial role in saving the lives of accident victims on highways and announced that the State Government has a target of creating 36 Patrolling Units in various accident prone stretches.

Announcing the introduction of Highway Patrolling, he said that the timing for taking an accident victim from a point of accident to the nearest hospital is crucial in saving lives.

“The quicker we can take an injured person to hospital, the better is the chance of survival, he added. These Patrolling units will be highly useful in these circumstances by carrying the accident victims as quickly as possible,” said the Chief Minister.

He further said that the State Government has a target of creating 36 Patrolling Units in various accident prone stretches.

“The functioning and experience of these 18 Units in the first phase will guide us for further action and future initiatives.  He asked the officials to resume more sensitization initiatives for drivers on various road safety mechanisms and laws relating to it,” said the CM.

MoS (Home) Dibya Shankar Mishra was present at Manguli Chhak near Cuttack. Among others, Chief Secretary Suresh Mohapatra, Development Commissioner PK Jena, ACS (Home) Sanjeev Chopra, DGP Abhay attended the event.

MLAs were also present at different locations

In the first phase, these units will function on the stretches in different districts as follows:

Ganjam –   

  • Khurdha district border to Rambha
  • Rambha to Chhatrapur
  • Chhatrapur to Girisola.

Berhampur –

  • Gopalpur Chhak to Golanthara border

Khurda –

  • Pittapali to Tapang Check gate.
  • Tapang Check Gate to Tangi P.S.
  • Tangri PS. To Ganjam district border

Angul –

  • Angul Town to Jarapada

Bargarh –

  • Bargarh district border to Sohela.

Rourkela –

  • Panposh Chhak to Kansbahal

Balasore –

  • Rupsa P.S. to Sergarh Toll Gate.

Bhadrak –

  • Balasore district border to Nalanga.
  • Nalanga to Jajpur district border

Puri –

  • Satyabadi to Puri Town

Jajpur –

  • Bhadrak district border to Jarka.
  • Kuakhia to Chhatia

Cuttack –

  • Chhatia to Manguli.
  • Adhala to Baladiabandh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *