Odisha: Pradeep Kumar Jena appointed new Chief Secretary 


Bhubaneawar, February 26: Senior IAS officer Pradeep Kumar Jena has been appointed as the new Chief Secretary of Odisha, said an official statement on Sunday. He will succeed Suresh Chandra Mahapatra, whose term ends on February 28.

“Pradeep Kumar Jena, IAS (RR-1989), DC-cum-ACS and Secretary to Government, Planning and Convergence Department with additional charge of Agriculture Production Commissioner, Special Relief Commissioner and MD, OSDMA is appointed as Chief Secretary and Chief Development Commissioner and Secretary to Government, General Administration and Public Grievance Department vice Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, IAS retiring on February 28, 2023,” read the notification issued by the General Administration and Public Grievance Department.

Jena, a 1989-batch Indian Administrative Service officer, was serving as the Development Commissioner, considered the number two position in the bureaucratic hierarchy of the State.

Anu Garg, a 1991-batch IAS officer, currently serving as Additional Chief Secretary (ACS) of the Water Resources Department, will replace Jena as the new Development Commissioner. She is allowed to remain as the Water Resources Department ACS.

Jena, who has a Master of Science degree in Geology, is a resident of the Dhenkanal district. He has held key positions in Energy, Water Resources, Rural Development and Information Technology Departments.

Jena’s role will be crucial in next general and Assembly elections due in 2024.

Mahapatra, a 1986-batch IAS officer, has been the Chief Secretary since January 1, 2021. Though he was scheduled to retire on February 28, 2022, he got two extensions for one year beyond his date of superannuation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *