Ensure lasting solutions to common man’s woes: Odisha CM to scientists

Ganapati Panda gets Biju Patnaik Award for
Scientific Excellence
Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief
Minister Naveen Patnaik on Tuesday called upon the scientist community in the
State to come up with ‘out-of-the-box’ solutions to combat the menaces of
environmental pollution, energy crisis, water scarcity, global warming, besides
ensuring lasting solutions for the problems of common populace, more
specifically for those living at the bottom of the social pyramid. 
The Chief Minister
while speaking at the felicitation programme of senior scientists for the year
2012 organised by Odisha Bigyan Academy (OBA) said, “The crucial social,
economic and environmental challenges need to be resolved and science is the
instrument that can bring enduring solutions to these challenges. Using the
tools of science we bravely face the natural disaster Phailin a few months back
so as to minimise the loss of life and property.”
Also emphasising on
enhancement of quality of academic and research institutions to match with the
international standards, Patnaik said, “Our research programmes need to achieve
a range of out-of-the-box solutions to combat the menaces of environmental
pollution, energy crisis, water scarcity, global warming and climate change.”
Patnaik also advised
the OBA to convene annual conclave of scientists and technocrats in the State
to provide an excellent platform to the scientific fraternity including young
scientists, school children, women scientists and traditional innovators of the
On the occasion the
Chief Minister felicitated Prof Ganapati Panda with Biju Patnaik Award for Scientific
Excellence, Prof Satyananda Acharya, Prof Bhabendra Kumar Patnaik and Er
Govinda Chandra Sahu with senior scientists awards, Dr Birendra Kumar
Mohapatra, Prof Sushil Kumar Dutta, Prof Sanghamitra Mohanty and Dr Ajit Kumar
Shasany with Samanta Chandra Sekhar Award, Dr Dipti Prakasini Das, Dr
Banikalyan Swain and Dr Punyapriya Mishra to Young Scientist Award and Dr
Purabi Mohanty and Dr Jyotirmayee Mohanty to Pranakrushna Parija Popular Award.
Among others, Higher
Education and Science and Technology Minister Pradip Kumar Panigrahi, Science
and Technology department Secretary Surendra Kumar, OBA secretary Dr Rekha Das
and president Prof Umacharan Mohanty also graced on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *