Odisha Assembly adjourned for respect to Kalam, JB

Bhubaneswar, August 18: The Monsoon Session of the Odisha
Assembly was adjourned till Wednesday after paying rich tributes to the
departed former members of the House, including former president of India Dr
APJ Abdul Kalam and former Chief Minister of Odisha and Assam Governor Janaki Ballav
As soon as the House
assembled on the opening day of the Monsoon Session, Chief Minister Naveen
Patnaik moved the condolence motion. The House observed a minute’s silent
prayer for the late members of the House and martyrs.
The House also condoled the deaths of former Ministers Sri
Ballav Panigrahi, Ananda Acharya, Kalpataru Das, Karitka Mohapatra, former MLAs
Parsuram Panigrahi, Sarat Paikray and Premalata Mohapatra and gramrakhi of the Odisha
police Jaga Khilla.
“The sad demise of
the ex-president of India, ex-Chief Minister, ex-members of this August House
and the martyr is a irreparable loss to the nation and to the members of the
bereaved families. I, therefore, request you to kindly convey our sincere
condolence to the bereaved families”, Patnaik said in his message addressed to
the Speaker.
Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra and BJP Legislature
Party leader Basanta Panda also condoled the deaths of former president of
India APJ Abdul Kalam, former Chief Minister JB Patnaik and four former
Ministers, three former MLAs and one grama rakhi of the Odisha Assembly.
“All the questions scheduled to be tabled today were
considered as presented. The question hour will begin on Wednesday” Speaker Niranjan
Pujari said.

Later, the Speaker adjourned the House, to be reassembled on
Wednesday. The Monsson Session will have 11 working days including two private members’ days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *