606 Sub-Inspectors shine at passing out parade with two stars in Odisha  


Bhubaneswar: A total of 606 Sub-Inspectors (SIs), including 212 women officials passed out from the Biju Patnaik State Police Academy (BPSPA) in a colourful passing-out parade that marked the end of their training at the BPSPA here. This was the largest passing-out parade of Sub-Inspectors by BPSPA so far.

Governor Ganeshi Lal graced the 9th batch passing-out programme and took the ceremonial salute in a colourful parade as the chief guest. The Governor called upon the newly recruited SIs to discharge their duties honestly and bring honour to the department without expecting any returns from society.

They had to undergo full-fledged institutional training for complete one year in BPSPA and PTI Bari in Jajpur district in both indoor and outdoor subjects.

They were also given six month practical training in the districts and three month anti-Maoist training at Special Operation Group (SOG) campus at Chandaka. This apart, during the institutional training, they were also taught on different penal codes, constitutional rules, forensic science, IT, cyber crime, gender-based crime, fire safety, shooting, mob management, behavioral skill, stress management, criminology, motivation, media management, anti-extremist operation.

The Governor felicitated Debadatta Samantaray with Lok Nayak Jayaprakash Narayan Medal for securing the highest marks in Criminology subject. Suchismita Khandei was awarded with Lok Nayak Jayaprakash Narayan Medal for securing highest marks in Forensic Science while Arundhati Parida was awarded with Late Manoranjan Memorial Trophy for securing highest marks in investigation subjects.

Mausumi Mohanty was awarded with Director’s Trophy for securing highest marks in Anti-Extremist Tactics Course among women cadets while Niranjan Behera bagged Director’s Trophy for securing highest marks in Anti-Extremist Tactics Course among men cadets.

Sasmita Mallick was felicitated with Shanti Nanda Memorial Trophy for being the best women cadet of the batch while Mukesh Sahani was felicitated with RK Senapati Memorial Trophy for securing first position in outdoor subjects. Rakesh Kumar Samal bagged the Late Ajit Bardhan Memorial Trophy for securing the highest marks in indoor subjects in the batch.

While Sasmita Mallick was awarded with Late Sada Hental Memorial Trophy for becoming overall second in the batch, Abhinab Mishra was awarded with Governor’s Medal, Director’s Trophy and Cash award of Rs 10,000 given by retired DGP AB Tripathy and his wife Usharani Tripathy for overall best cadet of the batch.

On the occasion DGP Dr RP Sharma said that the newly recruited officials may get chance serving 35 model police stations to come in every district shortly.

BPSPA Director Arun Sarangi highlighted the training module. Academy SP Sarah Sharma was also present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *