CM dedicates Rs 15,000-crore thermal power projects


Jharsuguda: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday dedicated to the State the Rs 15,000 crore thermal power project of Odisha Power Generation Corporation Limited (OPGC) at Banharpali, Jharsuguda.

The project is part of the company’s expansion at Ib Valley. With state-of-the-art tech and output of 1,320 mega watt (MW), it’s the largest thermal power generation unit in Odisha and will supply electricity for next 25 years.

The generator has been awarded Manoharpur and Manoharpur dip side coal blocks. The captive coal blocks have been awarded to Odisha Coal and Power (OCPL), a 51:49 joint venture between two companies – OPGC and the Odisha Hydro Power Corporation (OHPC). Both the coal blocks have a combined coal deposit of 531 million tonne.

The newly inaugurated units have added an extra 1,320 MW electricity for Odisha.

During the peak hours, the average requirement is about 4,395 MW in the State. At present, the State is generating 3957 MW, including 1,230 MW from six hydro stations, 780 MW from State thermal power stations, 1,212 MW from central sector, 245 MW from Independent Power Producers (IPPs), 40 MW from renewable energy sources and about 450 MW from other sources.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *