Congress announces nine more candidates for Assembly elections

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Sunday announced names of nine candidates for the ensuing Assembly elections.

While Odisha Pradesh Congress committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik will contest from Bhandaripokhari, Nalinikant Mohanty will fight from Bhadrak, Sitakanta Mohapatra from Barachana, Rabindra Nath kar from Salipur, Bibhransu Lenka from Mahakalpada, Lalatendu Mohapatra from Balikuda-Ersama and Satyabrata Patra from Nimapara.

Kisan Panda will contest from Dharmasala in place of Smruti Rekha Pahi and Debi Prasad Mallick from Tirotol in place of Bibhu Tarai. Tarai recently joined BJP and got the ticket for Jagatsinghpur parliamentary constituency.

With this fresh list, the party has so far announced 140 candidates in the 147-strong Assembly. Of the 140 candidates, nearly 90 faces are new.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *