Odisha records 73.76 per cent polling in phase one elections

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: Odisha recorded a polling percentage of 73.76 per cent in phase one of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections that was conducted on Thursday, informed Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar on Friday.

Four Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly seats went to poll in the first phase. Kumar said that of the total 73.76 per cent voter turnout, 73.09 per cent were male voters while female electorates percentage stood at 74.43 per cent and 11.25 per cent were from other categories.

Kumar said that Nabarangpur Parliamentary constituency recorded highest 78.89 per cent voter turnout followed by Kalahandi (75-82%), Koraput (74.77%) and Berhampur (65.57%). Parliamentary constituency recorded 75.82 per cent voter turnout.

The first phase polls was held in four Lok Sabha seats in Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput along with 28 Assembly constituencies – Nuapada, Khariar, Unerkote, Jharigaon, Nabarangpur, Dabugam, Lanjigarh, Junagarh, Dharmagarh, Bhawanipatna, Narlam, Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Berhampur, Digapandhi, Chikiti, Mohana, Paralakhemundi, Bissam Cuttack, Rayagada, Laxmipur, Kotpada, Jeypore, Koraput, Pottangi, Malkangiri and Chitrakonda amid tight security measures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *