Now, two polling officials axed in Deogarh for ‘human error’

Odisha Politics

Deogarh: Seven days after Bargarh Collector-cum-District Election officer suspended six officials for dereliction of duty, Deogarh Collector-cum-DEO on Friday suspended a Sector Officer and Presiding Officer for negligence.

The Collector put Sector Officer T Gopalkrishana Saraf and Presiding Officer Himashu Sekhar Behera under suspension for misparing of VVPAT and EVM machine at booth number 183 in Deogarh Assembly segment under Sambalpur Parliamentary constituency during the third phase elections on April 23.

As per allegations, button pressed against one symbol was resulting in votes for another symbol triggering tension in the booth. Based on inquiry report following allegations, the Collector placed the two officials under suspension.

Notably, Chief Electoral Officer Sunredra Kumar on Thursday hinted at stern legal action against the officials concerned for the ‘human error’.

According to sources, the polling official wrongly attached the VVPAT machine with the ballot unit meant for Assembly election. As a result, voters who pressed a particular symbol were resulted in votes for another party symbol in the VVPAT machine.

A fresh poll will be held there as per the direction of the Election Commission of India.

Notably, on April 19, Bargarh Collector placed three Presiding Officers and three Sector Officers under suspension for the same charge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *