Campaigning for fourth phase polls ends today, Amit Shah to address rallies in Odisha

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: Campaigning for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, the last polling day in Odisha, will come to an end on Saturday evening in the State.

On the last day of electioneering for the fourth phase, all political parties will make final efforts to woo the voters. Today, BJP national president Amit Shah address two election rallies Morada in Mayurbhanj and Sukinda and Duburi in Jajpur district while Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has already camped in Kendrapara since Thursday, while the party is facing a stiff challenge from BJP’s Kendrapara LS nominee Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda and Patkura MLA candidate Bijoy Mohapatra.

A total of six Lok Sabha and 41 Assembly constituencies will go to polls in the fourth phase on Monday. On Thursday, Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed public meeting in Balasore.

The phase four elections will be held on April 29 in six Lok Sabha constituencies namely Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur and 41 Assembly segments- Jashipur, Sarakana, Rairangpur, Bangriposi, Udlam Badasahi, Baripada, Morada, Jaleswar, Bhograi, Basta, Balasore, Remunda, Nilgiri, Soro, Simulia, Bhandarpokhari, Bhadrak, Basudevpur, Dhamnagar, Chandbali, Binjharpur, Bari, Barchana, Dharmasala, Jajpur, Korei, Sukinda, Niali, Salipur, Mahanga, Kendrapara, Aul, Rajanagar, Mahakalpada, paradeep, Tirtol, Balikuda-Erasama, Jagatsinghpur, Kakatpur and Nimapara, under them.

At least fifty-two candidates are in the fray for the six Lok Sabha seats while 336 candidates, including 34 female and one belonging to the third gender, are contesting for the Assembly segments.

There are a total of 95.14 lakh registered voters in the fourth phase polls. They will cast their ballots in 10,792 booths. Out of the total voters, 49.08 lakh are male, 46.05 lakh female and 615 third genders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *