Governor appoints BJD MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy pro-tem Speaker

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: Governor Ganeshi Lal on Wednesday appointed six-time BJD MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy as the pro-tem Speaker of the Assembly.

The Governor administered oath to Satpathy, to perform the duties of the Office of the Speaker at the sitting of the Assembly at 10 am on (Thursday) May 30 till the election of the Speaker on June 1. Satpathy is the senior most member of the Assembly. The oath-taking ceremony was held at the Raj Bhavan.

Earlier in the day, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took oath as the CM of the State for the fifth consecutive term. Patnaik has been the CM of Odisha since 2000.

Along with Patnaik, 11 Cabinet Ministers and nine MoS were sworn-in by the Governor at Exhibition Ground here.

Patnaik’s BJD registered victory in 112 Assembly seats. The State has altogether 147 Assembly seats. Polls to the Patkura constituency in Kendrapara district were countermanded after the death of BJD candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *