First session of new Odisha Assembly begins, MLAs including CM take oath

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: The first session of the 16th Odisha Assembly began on Thursday with Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and other MLAs taking oath, almost a week after their resounding victory in the polls. The three-day Assembly session will end on June 1.

Protem Speaker Amar Prasad Satpathy invited the Chief Minister to take his oath. Subsequently other MLAs took oath. The process will continue for two-day.

Earlier on Wednesday Governor Ganeshi Lal appointed six-time BJD MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy as the Protem Speaker of the Assembly.

The election of the Speaker will be held on June 1. Earlier on Wednesday, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took oath as the CM of the State for the fifth consecutive term. Patnaik has been the CM of Odisha since 2000.

Along with Patnaik, 11 Cabinet Ministers and nine MoS were sworn-in by the Governor at Exhibition Ground here.

Patnaik’s BJD registered victory in 112 Assembly seats. The State has altogether 147 Assembly seats. Polls to the Patkura constituency in Kendrapara district were countermanded after the death of BJD candidate.

The confidence was clearly visible this time, not only on the face of Patnaik, but also the first-time MLAs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *