Tarava police station of Odisha one of the best in country


Cuttack/Subarnapur: The Tarava police station in Subarnapur district has been adjudged as one of the 10 best police stations in the country on its performance in smart policing, citizen centric and women and child friendly policing and better grievance redressal mechanism.

Weightage was also given to the police station’s infrastructure and citizen feedback on performance of the police personnel posted at the police station, in the annual rankings of police stations for 2018, released by the Home Ministry on Tuesday.

Director General of Police (DGP) Dr Rajendra Prasad Sharma handed over the certificate and memento to Subarnapur Superintendent of Police (SP) Debi Prasad Dash and Tarava police station Inspector in-charge (IIC) Dulamani Bhoi at the State police headquarters here.

The certificate has been issued by Ministry of Home Affairs of the Government of India.

During DGPs/IGPs conference in 2016, it was decided to award 10 best performing police stations of the country on the basis of their performance on various angles.

Bureau of Police Research and Development had suggested a performance measurement system for grading the police stations.

Tarava Police Station got the award on the basis of this performance measurement system as it fulfilled all the criteria of measurement. Quality Council of India (QCI) was entrusted to carry out the survey for grading the police stations across the country.

The criteria for measuring the best police stations include smart policing, use of technology in delivery of services, citizen centric policing, Public Relations and community policing, people friendly policing, women and child friendly policing, better grievance redressal mechanism etc.

In fact, a team from QCI visited Tarava earlier and they interacted with all stakeholders to finalise the best police station.

They took input from general public, women, people in the SC, ST and minority community etc in this regard for taking a final decision in the matter.

Several senior police officers including Crime Branch CID ADG Santosh Upadhyay, Modernistation ADG VT Mishra, Law and Order ADG Sanjeeb Panda, Personnel IG PS Ranpise, IG Headquarters Asheet Panigrahi, DIG Headquarters Shefeen Ahamed K, Crime SP Sandeep Madkar and AIG Headquaretrs Vivekananda Sharma were present in the ceremony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *