Asit Tripathy is new Odisha Chief Secretary


Bhubaneswar: A day after Governor Prof Ganeshi Lal approved the name of incumbent Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi as the State Election Commissioner (SEC), the State Government on Thursday effected a reshuffle in top bureaucracy and appointed 1986-batch IAS officer Asit Tripathy as the new Chief Secretary of Odisha.

Tripathy is currently serving as the Development Commissioner and Additional Chief Secretary (Home). The incumbent Chief Secretary has applied for voluntary retirement following his appointment as SEC on Wednesday.

Similarly, Forest and Environment Additional Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra was appointed as the Development Commissioner. He will hold the additional charge of working chairperson of Shree Jagannath Temple Administration (SJTA) in Puri.

School and Mass Education Secretary Pradipta Kumar Mohapatra was appointed as the new Agriculture Production Commissioner.

The orders will come to effect from August 19, said a Government notification.

Works Secretary Krishan Kumar will serve as SJTA Chief Administrator along with his original assignment with immediate effect.

Retired IAS officer and Chief Adviser (Special Initiative) R Balakrishan was appointed as the Chief Adviser at Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) with immediate effect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *