Odisha Govt constitutes State Commission for Backward Classes


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government has constituted the State Commission for Backward Classes with Justice Raghunath Biswal, former Orissa High Court Judge as its Chairman, said an official release.

The Commission was constituted in accordance with the provisions contained in the Odisha State Commission for Backward Classes Act 1993, according to a statement of Chief Minister’s Office (CMO).

Earlier, Biswal had also served as the President of the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission from November 2012 to March 2017.

Other members the Commission are Prof Dr Navneeta Rath, Prof Dr Mitali Chinara and Dr Prasanna Kumar Patra while senior IAS officer Veer Vikram Yadav appointed as Member Secretary.

Dr Rath is a distinguished social scientist in Department of Sociology, who has also conducted studies on backward classes, Prof Chinara is the Professor in the Department of Economics, well known in the field of Applied and Analytical Economics and Dr Patra is a renowned Anthropologist in Department of Anthropology, whose research areas include socio-cultural, biological anthropology and demography at Utkal University.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *