All four BJD candidates elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: The four BJD candidates – Subash Singh, Munna Khan, Sujeet Kumar and Mamata Mahanta – were elected unopposed in the biennial elections to Rajya Sabha from Odisha on Wednesday as Opposition BJP and Congress stayed away from the contest.

Returning Officer and Odisha Legislative Assembly Secretariat Secretary Dasirathy Satpathy announced here that Singh, Khan, Kumar and Mahanta were elected unopposed to the Upper House and also gave away the winning certificates to them.

The election was necessitated after current Kendrapara MP Anubhav Mohanty, Narendra Swain and Sarojini Hembram of BJD and Ranjib Biswal of Congress vacated the seats. Though Mohanty’s seat fell vacant after he was elected to the Lok Sabha in 2019 elections, tenure of other three leaders will end on April 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *