Odisha tops in country in AMRUT Scheme implementation


Bhubaneswar: Odisha continues to be the top performer in the country in effective implementation of Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme.

According to the ranking of the States released by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Odisha has retained its 1st position by securing 85.67 per cent of marks.

Since the inception of the mission in 2015, concentrated efforts have been made towards Universal Coverage of Water supply, construction of Septage/Sewerage treatment plants and improving the green spaces in the 9 AMRUT cities of Odisha.

Out of total 191 projects grounded, 148 projects are completed and the rest are likely to be completed well within the Mission period of March 2021.

Odisha has made significant strides in providing piped water supply to all households in urban areas. With the implementation of AMRUT Mission in nine cities of Odisha, Universal Coverage of Piped Water Supply has been ensured.The Cities are Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Sambalpur, Rourkella, Baripada, Balasore, Bhadrak, Berhampur and Puri.

While 2400 KMs of Pipeline Laying/replacement works have been completed till date, all nine AMRUT cities are ensured to have 100% network coverage by December 2020. Augmentation in Water Treatment with six Water Treatment Plants (WTPs) out of which two at Rourkela and Bhubaneswar have been commissioned. Effective storage and Management of Water is ensured through construction of 89 new ESRs and GSRs with automation systems.

Substantial growth in the number of water supply household connections 1.23 lakh household connections have already been provided in the Urban Uncovered areas of AMRUT cities.

Similarly, Smart Solutions for Integrated Water distribution management system using Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) is being implemented in WTPs. SCADA in Mundali, Bhubaneswar WTP and Puri city is already operational.

Solar Powered Pumps are installed in Pump houses of Berhampur and Baripada with the aim to reduce usage / dependency on non-renewable energy resources and shift towards use of renewable energy resources

All projects are Geo-tagged resulting in ease of monitoring on real-time basis, better transparency, accuracy and easy location, management and validation of projects.

Eight SeTPs have been commissioned and made operational in AMRUT cities of Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Sambalpur, Rourkela, Baripada, Balasore, Berhampur and Puri while one Sewerage Treatment Plant in Bhubaneswar has been commissioned and Sambalpur and Rourkela Sewerage Projects are nearing completion.

85 parks out of total 110 have been completed and opened for public with well-conceived landscaping and rejuvenation facilities, Open Gym, Jogging trails and Child Play Equipment.

Earlier, Odisha had qualified for national incentive on achievement of reform milestones for 2015-16, 2016-17, and 2017-18.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Housing and Urban Development Minister Pratap Jena congratulated the department for this significant achievement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *