153 officers join Odisha Civil Services


Bhubaneswar, December 29: As many as 153 new officers joined the Odisha Civil Services on Wednesday. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik joined an orientation programme for the new entrants on virtual mode organised at the Convention Centre in the Lok Seva Bhawan here.

Welcoming the new officers on the occasion, the Chief Minister said, “Civil Service is unique in its own way. It is not just a profession. It is a Service towards your motherland and its common man. At no point of time, under no circumstances you should let down the trust of the common man. Each and every decision and action taken by you must be towards strengthening their hope and trust reposed on you.”

The Chief Minister said that this day marks the beginning of a new chapter in their life. They have now taken on the role of a responsible Civil Servant. As a result, they are expected to shoulder the roles and responsibilities that come attached to it.

Speaking that development of the state and welfare of the poor remain at the core of all our initiatives, he added that it is only through the hard work and devotion of young and capable officers like them, the people will be able to reap the true benefits of state’s initiatives and our State can become number one state.

He said that initiatives like ‘5T’ and ‘Mo Sarkar’ are directed at bringing transformative changes in the governance mechanism. The Government is working dedicatedly to provide doorstep services to the people, added.

Finance Minister Niranjan Pujari, Revenue Minister Sudam Marndi, and Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra also spoke on the occasion. Three officers Suchismita Das (OPS), Aswini Panda (OAS) and Babita Murmu (ORS) interacted and shared their experiences on the occasion.

Secretary to CM (5-T VK Pandian advised the officers as they have been inducted to this service purely on the basis of their merit, they should also follow the same principles in their public career to maintain absolute transparency, treat people professionally with empathy.

General Administration Department Principal Secretary Surendra Kumar gave the welcome address and Electronics & IT Secretary Shri Manoj Mishra offered the vote of thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *