India beat New Zealand by 70 runs, enter World Cup final


Mumbai, November 15: India on Wednesday stormed into their first World Cup final in 12 years after winning 10 games on the trot, the latest being a 70-run win over New Zealand at the Wankhede Stadium here.

Australia and South Africa will meet in the second semi-final at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens on Thursday, with the final on Sunday in Ahmedabad.

In a high-stakes semi-final of the ICC World Cup, India demonstrated their cricketing supremacy by setting a monumental total of 397/4 against New Zealand.

In reply, New Zealand were bundled out for 327 in the 49th over with Daryl Mitchell’s excellent innings of 134 proving to be in vain.

India after winning the toss and choosing to bat first. This exceptional performance was anchored by Virat Kohli’s landmark achievement of scoring his 50th ODI century, amassing 117 runs off 113 balls, surpassing Sachin Tendulkar’s record.

Shreyas Iyer, playing at his home ground, complemented Kohli’s historic innings with a brilliant 105 off 70 balls. KL Rahul’s swift 39 off 20 balls further bolstered India’s formidable total. New Zealand’s reply, though valiant, was restricted to 327, despite a solid partnership between Daryl Mitchell who scored 134 runs, and Kane Williamson, who scored 69 runs.

India’s bowling was dominated by Mohammed Shami’s exceptional 7-wicket haul, rendering him the chief architect of New Zealand’s collapse. Ravindra Jadeja’s fielding was noteworthy as well, with three crucial catches contributing to India’s defensive strategy.

The comprehensive victory in this critical semi-final has now propelled India into the finals of the World Cup, where they will face the winner of the upcoming semi-final between The Proteas and The Aussies.

This match not only highlighted India’s batting depth and bowling prowess but also underscored their readiness to compete for the ultimate prize in the tournament. The anticipation for the finals is now at an all-time high, with India emerging as a formidable contender for the World Cup title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *