Mohan Majhi new Odisha CM; Prabhati Parida, KV Singh Deo new Deputy CMs


Bhubaneswar, June 11: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh today announced veteran tribal leader Mohan Majhi as new Chief Minister of Odisha, ending days of speculation after the party’s victory in the recent State Assembly election

Singh also announced the names of Prabhati Parida and KV Singh Deo as the Deputy Chief Ministers of the State.

The BJP won a majority of 78 seats in the 147-strong Odisha Assembly elections, ending Naveen Patnaik’s 24-year tenure as Chief Minister.

Majhi’s name was announced at a meeting of the BJP Legislature Party. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Singh have been appointed as central observers.

The 52-year-old Majhi belongs to the tribal community and he has been elected for the fourth time to the State Assembly. He polled a total 87,815 votes and won the Keonjhar Assembly seat by a margin of 11,577 votes.

Defence Minister and Central observor Rajnath Singh tweets, “Delighted to announce that Shri Mohan Charan Majhi has been elected unanimously as the leader of Odisha BJP Legislature Party. He is a young and dynamic party karyakarta who will take the state forward on road to progress and prosperity as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. Many congratulations to him.”

“Also, it has been decided that two Deputy Chief Ministers will be designated to head the new State Government. Shri KV Singh Deo and Smt. Pravati Parida will serve the state as Deputy Chief Minister. Congratulations to them!,” wrote Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *