52 Odisha MLAs face criminal charges, 76 crorepatis

Bhubaneswar: Out of the 147
elected members to the 15th Assembly this time 52 members (35 per cent) are
facing criminal cases against them. This is two percent rise in the number of
members having criminal cases compared to the 14th Assembly which witnessed 48
(33 per cent) lawmakers having criminal records.

An analysis of the poll
results by Odisha Election Watch (OEW), shared with the media on Monday stated
that out of the 52 winners serious criminal cases including attempt to murder,
rape, kidnapping, crimes against women have been pending against 41 elected
Out of the 117 winners of
the BJD 32 (27 per cent) are facing criminal cases while nine out of 16 winners
from Congress and eight out of 10 winners from BJP are facing criminal cases.
As per the analysis only 23
MLAs who are below the age of 40 have been elected to the Assembly this time while
the 14th Assembly witnessed 36 young MLAs. This is an 8 per cent fall in the
number of young legislators compared to the 14th Assembly.
While three MLAs belong to
the age group of 22-30, 20 MLAs belong to the age group of 31-40. Eleven
legislators including nine from BJD and two from Congress belong to 25-35 age
group, the OEW report pointed out.
Among the young members are
Brajakishore Pradhan (Talcher), Bedabyasa Naik (Telkoi), Byomakesh Ray
(Chandabali), Anubhab Patnaik (Khandapada), Akash Das Nayak (Korei), Chandra
Sarathi Behera (Cuttack-Sadar), Pranab Balbantaray (Dharmasala) and Ganeswar
Patra (Badasahi). 
The report pointed out that
out of the 147 winners analysed, 76 (52 per cent) are crorepatis. In 2009
Assembly elections, there were 33 (22 per cent) crorepati winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *