445 Govt quarters illegally occupied in Bhubaneswar, reveals RTI

Four Ministers, 6 MLAs, Dy
Speaker have two Govt houses each 
January 14: A total of 445 Government quarters have been illegally occupied by
Ministers, MLAs, ex-Ministers, ex-MLAs, bureaucrats and Government employees in
the capital city of Bhubaneswar resulting in a loss to the tune of Rs 7 crore
to the State exchequer, a RTI reply has revealed.
In response
to a query by rights activist Pradip Pradhan the General Administration
Department Public Information Officer (PIO) also states that Panchyati Raj and
Law Minister Arun Kumar Sahoo, MSME Minister Jogendra Behera, Parliamentary
Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh, Higher Education Minister Dr Pradeep
Kumar Panigrahy, Assembly Deputy Speaker Sananda Marandi, Leader Opposition in
the Assembly Narasingha Mishra, MLAs Nrusigha Sahu, Prafulla Majhi, Debasish
Samantaray, Maheswar Mohanty, Subrat Tarai, Bhujabala Majhi among many
Government employees have availed two Government quarters in the State capital.

The reply further
states that the GA department in its reply on January 8, from January 1 to
November 1 last year a total of 64 Government quarters have been vacated from
illegal occupants like former MLAs, MPs, Ministers and Government employees
with recovery of Rs 26, 28, 634. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *