Phase-II polls: 33% voting registered in Odisha till 1 pm

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: At least 33 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 1 pm in Odisha in second phase polls, informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar. Balloting is being held in five Lok Sbaha constituencies and 35 Assembly segments coming under the parliamentary constituencies (PCs).

Like the first phase polling, the voting in the second phase, has been delayed at some polling stations due to technical glitches in the EVMs. According to reports, three EVMs at Sundargarh, two each at Bargarh and Dassapala in Nayagarh district and at Sanakhemundi under Aska Lo Sabha segment, one EVM in Jharsguda, have developed technical glitches thereby delaying the voting process.

A total of 76.93 lakh voters, including 39.45 lakh male, 37.47 lakh female and 560 third gender electorates, will exercise their franchise in the second phase of election at 9,117 booths today between 7 am and 6 pm amid tight security measures.

The fate of many heavyweights like Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Union Minister Jual Oram, outgoing MLA George Tirkey, Rajya Sabha members Prasanna Achrya and Achyuta Samanta, outgoing MP Kalikesh Singh Deo and former MP Sangita Singh Deo and former MP Kharabela Swain will be sealed in the ballot boxes.

A total of 35 candidates are in the fray for the five Lok Sabha seats while 244 candidates, are contesting for the 35 Assembly seats.

In the second phase, balloting is being held simultaneously in five Lok Sabha constituencies – namely, Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska and 35 corresponding Assembly constituencies – Padmapur, Bijepur, Bargarh, Attabira, Bhatli, Brajarajnagar, Jharsuguda, Talsara, Sundargarh, Biramitrapur, Raghunathpalli, Rourkela, Rajgangpur, Bonai, Birmaharajpur, Sonepur, Loisingha, Patnagarh, Bolangir, Titlagarh, Kantabanjhi, Baliguda, G Udyagiri, Phulbani, Kantamal, Boudh, Daspalla, Bhanjanagar, Polasara, Kabisuryanagar, Khalikote, Aska, Surada, Sanakhemundi and Hinjili.

Re-polling is also being held in two polling stations in Malkangiri and Berhampur Assembly constituencies following reports of glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) during the first phase of polling on April 11.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *