BJP to meet to elect leader of legislature party today


Bhubaneswar: The BJP Legislature Party (LP) would meet here today to elect its leader who will eventually be the Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the State Assembly.

Apart from Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, and party State-unit president Basanta Panda, the BJP legislature party meeting will be attended by BJP national general secretary and MP Saroj Pandey, national general secretary and Odisha-in-charge Arun Singh as the Central observers to oversee the process.

The BJP has emerged as the main opposition party in the State by winning 23 seats in its 146-member Assembly while Congress won nine seats. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik managed to lead his Biju Janata Dal (BJD) to power for a fifth consecutive term with victory in 112 seats.

Those in the race include, Sambalpur MLA Jayanarayan Mishra and Bhawanipatna MLA Pradipta Kumar Naik.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *