Pradipta Naik to be Leader of Opposition in Odisha Assembly 

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar: Bhawanipatna MLA Pradipta Kumar Naik was appointed BJP Legislature Party leader. By virtue of the BJPLP leader, Naik will also be the Leader of Opposition (LoP) of the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

With 23 MLAs, the BJP has emerged as the second largest party in the Assembly after 2019 elections. Naik will be appointed as the Leader of Opposition by the Speaker.

The newly-elected BJP legislators, who met here in presence of Central observer and Rajya Sabha Member Saroj Pandey and party Odisha in-charge Arun Singh on Sunday to elect their leader in the Assembly, authorised national president Amit Shah to select the person who will eventually be the LoP.

The legislature party meeting was presided by State president and MP Basanta Panda, was attended by Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan and Pratap Sarangi, former Union Minister Jual Oram, and national secretary and Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *