Odisha nominates top babus to oversee development of 10 aspirational districts in Odisha


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government on Friday nominated 10 Secretary-level officers to oversee development activities in 10 aspirational districts in the State Aspirational Districts Programme, said an official notification.

According to Planning and Convergence Department notification, Agriculture Production Commissioner and Additional Chief Secretary PK Mohapatra will be in charge of Dhenkanal district, Labour and ESI and Women and Child Development and Mission Shakti Secretary Anu Garg will oversee development activities in Rayagda, Agriculture and Farmers’ Empowerment Secretary Sourabh Garg (Koraput), Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Science and Technology Secretary DRK Singh (Kalahandi).

Similarly, Home Secretary Sanjeev Chopra was nominated for Kandhamal, Industries and MSME Secretary Hemanta Sharma (Nabarangpur), Higher Education Secretary Saswat Mishra (Nuapada), Skill Development and Technical Education Secretary SK Singh (Gajapati), Health and Family Welfare Secretary Dr Pramod Kumar Meherda (Bolangir) and Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare and Cooperation VV Yadav (Malkangiri), respectively.

These Secretary-level officers have been nominated as Secretary-in-charge in respect of 10 identified districts under Aspirational Districts Programme, the notification added.

“They will closely follow up on the 49 indicators across five sectors, – health and nutrition, education, agriculture, and water resources, financial inclusion and skill upgradation and basic infrastructure like irrigation, rural electrification, potable drinking water and access to toilets their respective districts,” it added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *