All India Police Hockey Championship to begin in Bhubaneswar from Monday

Odisha Sports

Bhubaneswar: Kalinga Stadium here is all set to host the 68th edition of the All India Police Hockey Championship-2019 from Monday.

Being organised by the Odisha Police at least 25 teams consisting 500 players, 200 officials and trainers from Police Organisations of different States, Union Territories and Central Armed Police Forces will participate in this mega annual sporting event between December 16 and 24.

At least 50 Technical Officials have been roped in to conduct the championship. The Championship will be organised under the aegis of “All India Police Sports Control Board.”

Sports and Youth Services Department is providing technical manpower and material to make this event a grand success while Odisha Hockey Association is providing required logistics and technical support.

The Mascot for the Asian Athletic Championship and World Cup Hockey “Olly” representing the rare Olive Ridley Turtle has been taken as the Mascot of this event as well.

Separate committees have been formed under the leadership of Senior Officers of State Police for better co-ordination and management of the event.

Director General of Police Abhay is the Chairman of the Organising Committee. Bhubaneswar-Cuttack Commissioner of Police Sudhansu Sarangi and ADG VT Mishra are the vice-chairman of the organising committee. IG Amitabh Thakur is the Organising Secretary of the championship who is monitoring the preparatory arrangement on a daily basis.

Various committees like Reception, Accommodation, Souvenir, Media and Publicity, Refreshment, Transport, Finance, Medical are formed for smooth management of the event. Senior officers like RP Koche, Saumendra Priyadarshi, Rekha Lohani, JN Pankaj, Anirudh Singh, Anup Kumar Sahoo are heading the committees.

Players and officials have been accommodated with different locations of Bhubaneswar.

The opening and closing ceremony of the championship will be held at 7th OSAP Battalion Ground here. While the opening function will be graced by DGP Abhay, the valedictory event will be attended by Minister of State (Home) Dibya Shnakar Mishra.

The quarter final and semi-final matches of the tournament will begin from December 21and the final match will be played on December 24.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *