Coronavirus outbreak: Odisha extends lockdown to 14 districts


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Government on Monday extended lockdown from five to 14 districts to check the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

The lockdown was extended to full districts of Puri, Nayagarh, Jagatsinghpur. Jajpur, Bhadrak, Balasore, Dhenkanal, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda districts from Tuesday morning, said State Government’s Chief Spokesperson on COVID-19 Subrato Bagchi.

A total of 14 districts come under the lockdown amid Coronavirus (COVID-19) fear.

“In partial modification of the earlier order, the Government of Odisha further extends the lockdown to the territorial jurisdiction of revenue districts of Puri, Nayagarh, Jagatsinghpur, Dhenkanal, and extends the lockdown to the entire jurisdiction of Jajpur, Bhadrak, Balasore, Sambalpur and Jharsuguda districts from 7 am of 24th March till 9 pm of 29th March 2020,” said a notification of the Health and Family Welfare Department.

Earlier, the State Government had notified lockdown in territorial jurisdiction of revenue districts Khurda, Cuttack, Ganjam, Kendrapara, Angul, and the municipal jurisdiction of Puri, Rourkela, (including RSP township), Sambalpur, Jharsuguda, Balasore, Jajpur, Jajpur Road and Bhadrak from March 22 to March 29.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *