MBBS and BTech quota: Odisha Govt constitutes High Power Committee

Education Odisha

Bhubaneswar, January 7: The Odisha Government has constituted a High Power Committee led by Dr Justice A.K. Mishra, retired Orissa High Court judge for making necessary recommendation regarding reservation of seats for the students of Govt High Schools in Engineering and Medical courses of the State pursuant to the decision of the Cabinet held on December 28 last year.

The Committee will recommend reservation of seats for the students of Government High Schools in the Engineering and Medical Courses of the State.

Other Members of the said committee are former Utkal University Vice-Chancellor and former head of Laser and Plasma Technology Division at BARC, Prof. Ashok Kumar Das, Director, Medical Education and Training (DMET) Prof (Dr.) C.B.K. Mohanty, Council of High Secondary Education Chairman B.S. Poonia, Technical Education and Training Director G. Reghu.

Joint Secretary to Government, SD&TE Department Dr. A.K. Nayak is the Member Convenor.

Notably, on December 28 last year, the State cabinet presided by Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik cleared a resolution proposing quota in medical and engineering courses in colleges for students of government-run schools in the state.

As per the decision, students, completing their education in the government schools in Odisha will have a reservation during admission into medical and engineering courses in the State from the academic year 2021-22.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *