President-elect Droupadi Murmu to take oath on Monday at 10.15 AM


New Delhi, July 23: The ceremony of assumption of office by Droupadi Murmu, the President-elect will be held on Monday at 10.15 AM in the Central Hall of Parliament House.

The President-elect will take the oath of office by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana, followed by a 21-Gun Salute.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, members of the Council of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, Heads of Diplomatic Missions, Members of Parliament and principal Civil and Military Officers of the Government of India will assemble in the Central Hall for the Ceremony.

The President and the President-elect will arrive in the Central Hall in a ceremonial procession.

The President will then deliver an address. On the conclusion of the Ceremony in the Central Hall, the President will leave for Rashtrapati Bhavan where an Inter-Services Guard of Honour will be given to her in the Forecourt and courtesies will be extended to the outgoing President.

Droupadi Murmu was elected India’s 15th president on Thursday after she defeated opposition’s Yashwant Sinha. She is the first tribal President and also the first from Odisha to become the President of the country.

Outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind’s tenure will end on July 24.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *