Odisha Assembly Speaker, 2 Ministers resign; Cabinet reshuffle likely 

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar, May 12: State Assembly Speaker Bikram Keshari Arukha and two other Ministers – Samir Ranjan Dash and Srikanta Sahu – of State Council of Ministers resigned in quick succession on Friday evening, giving rise to speculation that Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik may undertake a reshuffle of his Council soon.

Speculation is rife that Naveen, currently on Delhi tour till Saturday, may reshuffle his Council after his return.

While the Speaker Arukha announced his resignation first, School and Mass Education Minister Samir Ranjan Dash and Labour Minister Srikanta Sahu – put in their papers.

Speaking to reporters while announcing his decision, Speaker Arukha said “I have sent my resignation to the Deputy Speaker.”

“I have always carried out every responsibility assigned to me by the party and will continue to do so in the future,” Arukha said to media persons in Bhubaneswar.

Labour minister Srikanta Sahu said he resigned as the party wanted him to work for strengthening the organisation before the 2024 Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

However, immediate reshuffle seems unlikely as Governor Prof Ganeshi Lal is now not in Bhubaneswar. He will return on May 22.

Thus immediate reshuffle seems unlikely unless Governor returns.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *