Odisha announces Rs 60 lakh incentive for 6 Olympians at Rio 2016

Bhubaneswar, July 26:
Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Tuesday announced a special incentive of Rs 10
lakh for each six Olympians selected for Olympic Games at Rio de Janeiro,
“In 10
days’ time, ace sprinters Dutee Chand and Srabani Nanda along with four members
of National women’s hockey team Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and
Sunita Lakra will take to the field in the 31st Olympic Games at Rio de
Janeiro, Brazil. It will be a proud and historic moment for Odisha, when six
sports persons from the State will represent the country at the greatest
sporting platform in the world,” said Patnaik.
All the six girls will get Rs 10 lakh each.
the special incentive Patnaik directed the Odisha Mining Corporation (OMC) to immediately
release the fund to aid and boost our Olympian’s preparations.
the Chief Minister has enhanced the Olympian incentive from the present level
of Rs 1 lakh (individual event) and Rs 50,000 (for group event) to Rs 5 lakh to
each Odisha Olympian.
Wishing the
Olympians the best for Rio 2016, Patnaik said they will gun for glory and bring
laurels for India and Odisha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *