Polling begins for Patkura Assembly election

Odisha Politics

Bhubaneswar/Patkura: Polling began on Saturday morning for Patkura Assembly seat under Kendrapara Parliamentary constituency.

Till 9 am, 12 per cent voter turnout was recorded, informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO).

Voting began at 7 am amid tight security for the Patkura Assembly seat, which had to be postponed twice in the past few months due to the death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agrawalla and later in the aftermath of cyclone Fani that hit the State on May 3.

A total of 2,44,747 voters, including 1,17,306 women, will exercise their franchise till 6 pm in 309 polling stations. Counting of votes would be done on July 24.

Out of the 309 polling booths, the Election Commission is monitoring 31 booths through webcasting. CCTV cameras have been installed in 40 booths. The Patkura Assembly segment is spread over Marsaghai, Garadpur, and Derabish blocks.

As many as 10 candidates are in the fray. The prominent candidates are BJP leader Bijoy Mohapatra, senior Congress leader Jaynata Mohanty and Sabitri Agrawalla of BJD, the widow of senior leader and former Minister Bed Prakash.

However, it is likely to be a straight fight between the ruling BJD and Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik’s bete noire, Bijoy Mohapatra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *